Sting

I’ve often been made to feel frustrated by the song Fields of Gold by Sting, the reason being that he never finds a rhyme for the word ‘barley’.

‘You’ll remember me when the west wind moves
Upon the fields of barley,’

it goes, only to be followed by the couplet,

‘You’ll forget the sun in his jealous sky
As we walk in the fields of gold.’

The rest of the song is much the same with us being told of various things happening in the fields of barley, but each and every time, Sting cops out and instead of completing the rhyme, rounds things off with, to my mind, the poetically unsatisfying phrase, ‘fields of gold’.

This mystifies me, as there numerous ways he could have resolved it better. For instance:

You’ll remember me when the west wind moves
Upon the fields of barley,
You’ll think of the time I played football
With Bob’s son, Ziggy Marley.

Or,

You’ll remember me when the west wind moves
Upon the fields of barley,
You’ll be reminded of the time I tripped
On a tree root so old and gnarly.

Tamali, Kali, Salvador Dali, Joe Pasquale – there are so many ways Sting could have gone with this. But no, he bottled it, and went for the safe option of ‘Fields of Gold’. For this reason I have nothing but contempt for the man, indeed, hating him with the same passion I would normally reserve for a war criminal. Which I think is only fair.

One Response to “Sting”

  1. It’s unfair to be so harsh for one missing rhyme! But I do like your revised lyrics and here is my addition:

    You’ll remember me when the west wind moves
    upon the fields of barley,
    it’s too bad you see, time has been so cruel,
    cause now I weigh more than Chris Farley.

Leave a Reply

